On the Courageous Path to Persistence

Upswing
3 min readNov 6, 2020

The next scholarship winner we want to spotlight is Samantha. Samantha inspires us to use life’s challenges for the greater good and to continue to persist no matter the obstacles.

College has been rewarding yet bittersweet thus far for Samantha. In high school, Samantha was diagnosed with a rare genetic condition called Ehlers Danlos Syndrome, that affected her everyday life. Even though her high school diploma became a challenge after being homebound for many months, that didn’t stop Samantha from pursuing her education.

She would later start college and spend three years in a nursing program where she started working at a local hospital, but life threw a bit of a curve ball and due to the heal challenges she was dealing with, she had to move back home and stop attending college.

At this point she realized that traditional college was not feasible. After doing some research, she found an online social work program. Even though it was not the route she originally imagined taking, she was determined to complete her degree no matter what.

She knew that even though she was struggling throughout her college career, dropping out twice, she was determined to continue working harder than ever to finish strong.

It all started to come together last January when Samantha was on her way to work and she saw a man lying in the middle of the road.This prompted her to jump out of her car and use the knowledge she had learned in nursing school to do a basic assessment and determine that he had no pulse and was not breathing. She performed CPR until EMS arrived.

At this moment, Samantha realized that things happen for a reason. On that day, she knew why her college career started off in nursing school, and although it veered in a different direction, she was prepared to help this man when no one else was. Even though she did not know this man, she felt a need to help him from a place of love and compassion. This is an internal value that her education has only enhanced for her.

It is from these learnings that ignited her drive to keep pushing forward.

1. What were some of your initial reactions when you found out you were an Upswing scholarship winner?

When I found out that I received the Upswing scholarship I was incredibly grateful. I honestly had forgotten that I applied so I was surprised. It was an awesome moment where I was thankful and excited for my semester.

2. What does being a “nontraditional” student mean to you?

I am a non-traditional student because not only am I a first-generation college student, but I also had taken a year and a half off from college. I am enrolled in an online social work program and I work full time. I have a very diverse situation that became complicated due to some medical issues. I was motivated to finish college despite my challenges.

3. What is your favorite part about using Upswing?

Upswing provided me with the opportunity to finish my undergraduate level studies with less financial burden. It lessened my worry about how I would be able to pay for my final semester. Being so close to finishing school, I was determined to make it work. Upswing has been a big help to me and my family. They have been great at communicating with me and even checking in on my progress which was very different from other scholarships that I received. It is those little personal touches that make me even more grateful for their programs.

After receiving the Upswing scholarship, Samantha was able to start her final semester of college. She is now completing her field experience with a hospice company in the low country of South Carolina and set to graduate in December pending the successful completion of her field experience. She recently applied for licensure at the bachelor level and even applied for a full-time position with the hospice company. In the meantime, she is currently working at Kroger and recently got a promotion. She is super excited for what the future holds.

Read about our final scholarship winner Hannah who experienced homelessness as a young adult, and developed the will to push forward.

--

--

Upswing

Helping colleges to improve student success and retention by engaging more students through online access to all college services.