More Than a Tutor at Upswing

Upswing
3 min readJul 29, 2020

--

By Sejal Kothari

Online tutoring entered my life when I needed it the most! I had been on a sabbatical following a recent childbirth and in my country of India, in those days, career breaks were not viewed very favorably, so going back into the banking sector (the industry I previously worked in) was out of the question. Online tutoring was an opportunity that became a life saver!

The tutoring company I had been working with at the time for the past four years ran into some financial trouble and it was at this point I got introduced to Upswing. I still consider myself lucky to be a part of the awesome Upswing family! As of today, Upswing happens to be my major source of income where I spend about eight hours a day tutoring students on the platform.

The income I earn from Upswing is important to me, but that is not the only reason I have stayed with this company for approximately six years now. The best part about Upswing is that they are most committed to providing students excellent tutoring services. In other words, we strive for excellence. Success just naturally follows.

Coaches here are not turned into robots.

We are given freedom to teach the way we deem fit providing me immense flexibility to customize my teaching style to suit the particular student I am working with; which in turn results in a more knowledgeable and satisfied student. When that student comes back at the end of the semester to tell me that he has scored an A in math, trust me there is nothing more satisfying than that! Nothing in the world beats the feeling of pride, when my student does well in his/her exams.

Working with Upswing has also allowed me to grow as a person and strengthen my craft. In my earlier years with Upswing, every few months, I would get clues from my students about the math topics in most demand and I would then study and review those topics diligently. This helped me enhance my knowledge, which in turn opened up more opportunities to work with students. Each and every single day, there is at least something new I continue to learn at Upswing.

As they say in our ancient Indian scriptures, “a good teacher is the one who never stops learning.”

As I sit on one end of the globe and tutor students on the other end — wow! That was unthinkable a decade ago when I started online tutoring, but now with Upswing, I get to interact with so many students and help them with their homework, test preparations, missed class recap etc. I’d say that at Upswing I not only tutor, but I also get to teach. A lot of students who have missed classes while in college or have been out of school for many years, come to me to learn hard concepts, not just receive homework help.

It makes me feel valuable to be a small part of their learning process and feel confident that I don’t need to work outside of my home to take a full time banking job to support my family and myself. I can do it sitting in the comfort of my home. It also adds to my self-esteem knowing that I was able to help someone somewhere learn something new or overcome an obstacle of his/her course. All thanks to Upswing!

The kind of job satisfaction I have with Upswing is unparalleled!

Upswing Coach Sejal Kothari

Sejal was born in Kuwait (Arabian Gulf), but completed most of her schooling in India where she earned a Bachelors in Civil Engineering and a Masters in Business Administration from Saurashtra University, India. She spent a portion of her work life at various banking companies such as General Motors Acceptance Corporation and IDBI Bank. She then took some time off to be a stay at home mom where she then continued her career as a full time Online tutor. She has currently worked with Upswing for 6+ years.

--

--

Upswing

Helping colleges to improve student success and retention by engaging more students through online access to all college services.